Lower Parriwi Road, The Spit, Mosman NSW 2088
Donate here to help replace Sandpiper
     T: (02) 9969 1244 | E: info@mhyc.com.au  

Celebrating our Sailors - Part 4

As the Annual Presentation Night to celebrate MHYC’s 2019-2020 season was not possible due to Covid-19, we are announcing the award winners online over a period of 5 weeks.

In our fourth instalment, we celebrate:

  • Shaun Lane – recipient of the Norman G Booth Trophy
  • Sail Exchange (Carl Crafoord) - The Nigel Holman Trophy and Salamander Cup
  • Perception (Charles Caskey) - Seven Islands Race
  • Rock Solid (Mitchell Miller & Andrew Gunton) - Sydney Harbour Trek


Shaun Lane – Norman G. Booth Award

The Norman G. Booth trophy is awarded to a skipper or crew, other than an Annual Pointscore winner, from any Division, nominated for his/her consistent racing with MHYC and with an emphasis on enthusiasm, improvement, sportsmanship and clubmanship throughout the season.

Shaun Lane is a worthy winner of the Norman G. Booth trophy this year - an active MHYC member who has campaigned the MC38 Lazy Dog over the past two seasons.

After a concerted effort over the previous 12 months to develop the crew and boat, Lazy Dog claimed the 2020 Australian Championship.  This followed a string of strong placings throughout the season of MC38 Events in this highly competitive class.  As a volunteer, Shaun is President of the Australian MC38 Class Association and a Board Member of Middle Harbour Yacht Club.




Sail Exchange (Carl Crafoord)

MHYC member Carl Crafoord and co-owner Tim Horkings from CYCA are keen competitors in offshore series with the Cookson 12 Sail Exchange.  This year, they claimed 1st Place ORCi Division 3 and 2nd Place IRC Division 5 in the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, earning MHYC’s Nigel Holman Trophy.  Sail Exchange also won the Salamander Cup for the best placed MHYC boat in the Cabbage Tree Island Race.






Perception (Charles Caskey)

Charles Caskey’s Perception is a regular starter in MHYC’s Wednesday, Thursday Twilight and Feature Event races and won Division 2 of the Seven Islands Race in November last year.







Rock Solid (Mitchell Miller & Andrew Gunton)

Mitchell Miller & Andrew Gunton’s Adams 10 Rock Solid is a high performing boat both in Championships and MHYC’s inshore series.  They were third overall on One-Design in the season Adams 10 pointscore and won Division 1 of the Sydney Harbour Trek last October.