Lower Parriwi Road, The Spit, Mosman NSW 2088
     T: (02) 9969 1244 | E: info@mhyc.com.au   

Annual Presentation Cocktail Party

11 May 2019

Middle Harbour Yacht Club’s Annual Presentation Cocktail Party was something special tonight as the Club continues to celebrate its 80th year.

140 guests enjoyed a warm social atmosphere and entertainment in between celebrating the achievements of MHYC sailors in club, interclub, national and international competition.

Kirsty Sturrock from Helly Hansen, Glen Wirth from LJ Hooker Seaforth and Russell Waddy from Allsail were on hand to assist Commodore Peter Lewis and President John McCuaig to bestow prizes.  MC was Vice Commodore Racing Geoff Charters.

Among the long list of trophy recipients for the Inshore Divisions were Annual Pointscore winners

Innamincka (John Crawford) for Div 2 and Mortgage Choice Rumba (Rob Carr, Stephanie Cook & Kerry Burke) for Div 1.  Powderhulk (Patrick Delaney) won the Adams 10 One Design Annual Pointscore.

In the Ocean and Open Divisions, Nine Dragons (Bob Cox) was 1st IRC & 1st PHS in Division 1, while Stormaway (Jack Stening, Colin Gunn & Ian Thomas) were 1st IRC & 2nd PHS in Division 2.

In MHYC’s popular Thursday Twilight Series, the overall winners were Single Malt (Peter Gilliland) Div 4, Freedom (Stephen Smith) Div 3, Sirius (Garth Riley) Div 2 and Kayimai (Rob Aldis) Div 1.

Cruising members Chris Canty, John Eastway, Paul Wotherspoon & Kelly Nunn-Clark were also awarded.

A number of Special Awards were also announced. 

The Tig Thomas Memorial Trophy was presented to Gordon Ketelbey.  This trophy recognises members who have competed in interclub events and major championships, with points awarded for both participation and placings in State, National and International competitions.

Stan Phillips was announced as Crew Member of the Year, Rob Aldis was awarded the Norman G. Booth Trophy and Steve Tucker presented the R.B. Cooper Perpetual Award for outstanding voluntary service.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the trophies and awards and a big thankyou to all the club’s race management volunteers and series sponsors.

Photos by Freya Patenall