Lower Parriwi Road, The Spit, Mosman NSW 2088
     T: (02) 9969 1244  |  E: info@mhyc.com.au   

Saturday Sprint Racing at MHYC

A rainy Saturday morning gave way to a fine and mostly sunny afternoon on a busy day of sailing at MHYC today.  The south to south-easterly breeze was mainly 15 knots increasing to more than 20 knots at times as the afternoon progressed.

The Inshore Sprint Series for the MHYC Open, Div 1, Div 2 and Adams 10 Yacht Divisions were held inshore while the first three races of the Farr 40 NSW Championships were held off Manly.

Three races were held for the Open Division, with an unusual dead heat on IRC corrected time in the first race between Just A Dash (Phil Dash) and Toy Box 2 (Ian Box).  Just A Dash claimed the second race and Stormaway (Stening/Gunn) won the last of the day.  On PHS Handicap, race winners were Kayimai (Rob Aldis), Just A Dash and Stormaway.

After 12 races, Just A Dash leads Toy Box 2 and Stormaway in the IRC series score.  On PHS, it’s Just A Dash from Toy Box 2 and Wailea (Neil Padden).

Optimum (Stuart Jordan) and Mortgage Choice Rumba (Carr/Cook/Burke) were the Division 1 race winners today.  Optimum is at the top of the series table just one point ahead of Galan (Mike Gallagher) and XC3SS (Peter Woodhead). 

In Division 2, Waterborne Again (Marc Tromp) and Innamincka (John Crawford) were the race winners.  Innamincka is two points ahead of Waterborne Again on the series score with Numero Uno (Scott Lawson) third.

Six Adams 10s were back on the water after completing three days of racing last weekend during the Australian Championships held at MHYC.  Rob Clarke’s Kick ‘n Chase was the One Design winner in both races today, while Another Dilemma (Jim Curtis) claimed two PHS wins.  Rock Solid (Mitch Miller) leads the One Design Pointscore from Kick ‘n Chase (Clarke/Poiner) and Powderhulk (Patrick Delany).  No Friends (Geoff Charters) is the series leader on PHS.

The final races of the Inshore Sprint Series are only two weeks away on February 17.  There is no racing next weekend, with a number of MHYC boats participating in the Pittwater Regatta. The regular Inshore Series re-commences on February 24 and continues until April 7.

To view the Open Sprint Series results – click here

To view the Inshore Sprint Series results – click here


Photos by Marg Fraser-Martin

Photos by Chris Meredith